Skip to main content

Law Enforcement

Do you come out of police training with a degree?

In six researched systems there are three different answers, and one of them is the answer to a different question: in England and Wales the degree is what training PRODUCES, not what it requires. In Finland it is the only route in. In Bavaria there is no degree in sight.

Fact-checkedSafety review clearedLast updated Last reviewed

In short

Three things get called "police training" and they end very differently. One produces a degree awarded by a recognised higher-education institution. One produces an appointment and a professional qualification that is not a degree. One produces neither, and is measured in hours.

Why it exists

AnalysisThe question "do I need a degree to be a police officer" has a well-known answer — usually no — and that answer conceals a more interesting one. Several systems will give you a degree; they simply will not ask you for one first.

How it works

Finland is the clearest case of training AS higher education. The Police University College is a university of applied sciences operating under the Ministry of the Interior and part of the Finnish Police, awarding a Bachelor of Police Services, a Master of Police Services and a Bachelor of Rescue Services.

It is also the only route. The College states it in terms: "In Finland, you can only graduate as a police officer from the Police University College in Tampere." The bachelor takes three years and "qualifies to the position of a Senior Constable".

Norway is structurally similar. Politihøgskolen is the police’s educational institution, with a societal mission to "sikre rettssikkerhet, trygghet, lov og orden gjennom utdanning, forskning og formidling", and its bachelor in police education is what a Norwegian police officer holds.

The Netherlands puts the same function in a differently constituted body. The Politieacademie has been part of the police since 2017 and is at the same time an independent administrative body making its own policy, reporting to the Ministry of Justice and Security, with the quality of its higher education assessed by the national accreditor.

Germany answers differently depending on which door you come through, and a single Land shows both answers. In Berlin the gehobener Dienst is entered through a three-year Studium and "Mit erfolgreichem Abschluss wird dir der Grad ‘Bachelor of Arts (B. A.)’ verliehen". The mittlerer Dienst in the same force is a two-and-a-half-year Vorbereitungsdienst ending in appointment as Polizeimeisterin or Polizeimeister — a professional qualification, not a degree.

Bavaria trains for the same two and a half years — "Wir bilden Dich 2,5 Jahre in den unterschiedlichsten Disziplinen aus", in five sections of six months — and its page states no academic award at all. Nothing here says Bavaria awards no degree on any route; it says this page does not, and none is claimed from it.

England and Wales invert the question. The Police Constable Degree Apprenticeship runs three years, takes a Level 3 entry qualification, employs the recruit from the first day, and produces a Level 6 Degree in Professional Policing Practice as the OUTPUT of training. The same national material states plainly: "You don’t need a degree to join the police."

Ireland asks for neither. The educational requirement is a Leaving Certificate at the stated grades, a Level 5 major award, or a recognised qualification at Level 5 or above — and no degree appears in it.

The United States is measured in hours rather than in awards. The 2022 census of state and local training academies records an average of 806 hours of core basic training, ranging from 681 hours at state POST-equivalent academies to 969 at state police and highway patrol academies.

Common misconceptions

Widely held beliefs that do not match how the system actually operates.

  • Common belief: Policing is becoming a graduate profession everywhere.

    In practice: Six researched systems give three different answers, and two of them are single German Länder that disagree with each other. Nothing here supports a direction of travel.

  • Common belief: If training awards a degree, a degree is needed to start.

    In practice: In England and Wales the Level 6 degree is the OUTPUT of the apprenticeship, and the same official material says you do not need a degree to join.

  • Common belief: A police academy is a university.

    In practice: NOT ESTABLISHED in general, and false in several of these systems. Finland’s institution is a university of applied sciences and says so; Berlin’s mittlerer Dienst produces an appointment rather than an academic award; Bavaria’s page states no award at all.

  • Common belief: Longer training means a higher qualification.

    In practice: Berlin’s two entry routes are two and a half years and three years, and only the longer one awards a degree — but Bavaria trains for the same two and a half years and states no award, so duration predicts nothing on its own.

How this varies between jurisdictions

A required section on every guide. Arrangements differ between countries, and we say how.

AnalysisThree patterns, then. Training that IS higher education and is the only route in (Finland, Norway). Training delivered by a body inside the police whose teaching is externally accredited (the Netherlands). And training that is professional rather than academic, whether measured in years (Bavaria, Berlin’s mittlerer Dienst) or in hours (the United States).

Rights and accountability

Who judges the teaching differs as much as what it awards. In the Netherlands the national higher-education accreditor assesses the Politieacademie’s degree-level programmes, alongside a justice inspectorate; in Finland the institution is itself a university of applied sciences under the interior ministry. An academy answerable only to the force that runs it is a different proposition from one answerable to an education regulator.

AnalysisNone of this is a ranking. No system here is described as training its officers better than another, and this platform publishes no such comparison, because comparing educational quality across jurisdictions requires a methodology it does not have.

What we could not establish

  • Six systems were researched and two of them are single German Länder. Nothing here establishes what any unresearched system does, and Berlin and Bavaria establish nothing about the other fourteen Länder or the Bundespolizei.
  • Whether a qualification is a DEGREE in the sense a university would recognise was taken from what each institution says about itself. No national qualifications framework was consulted, and no two of these are asserted to be equivalent.
  • The credit value of the Finnish bachelor is NOT established: the College’s own degree page does not state it.
  • Nothing here establishes what a qualification is worth outside policing, or whether any of it transfers between countries.

Where to go next

For what a training institution is as a matter of law, see what a police training institution is in law. For why most police teaching is not recruit training at all, see most police training is not recruit training.

Sources

  1. The Police University College in brief — Poliisiammattikorkeakoulu

    Poliisiammattikorkeakoulu (Police University College, Finland) · Institutional (self-description) · link verified 2026-09-13

    SCOPE: the Finnish Police University College only. The institution’s own English page, read directly. Supports its names — "Poliisiammattikorkeakoulu" in Finnish, "Police University College (Polamk)" in English; that it operates under the Ministry of the Interior and is "part of the Finnish Police"; that it describes itself as "a center of expertise in police education, research and development"; that it is a UNIVERSITY OF APPLIED SCIENCES awarding a Bachelor of Police Services, a Master of Police Services and a Bachelor of Rescue Services; that it is in Tampere; and that "All new police officers graduate from the Police University College in Tampere". Establishes nothing about police education in any other country.

  2. Bachelor of Police Services — Poliisiammattikorkeakoulu

    Poliisiammattikorkeakoulu (Police University College, Finland) · Institutional (self-description) · link verified 2026-09-13

    SCOPE: the Finnish Bachelor of Police Services only. The institution’s own page, read directly. Supports that the degree "takes three years to complete the studies"; that it "qualifies to the position of a Senior Constable"; and the exclusivity statement, verbatim: "In Finland, you can only graduate as a police officer from the Police University College in Tampere". The credit value is NOT stated on this page and is not claimed from it. Graduate destinations named on the page are possibilities it lists, not outcomes this platform reports.

  3. Om oss - Politihøgskolen

    Politihøgskolen (Norwegian Police University College) · Government publication · link verified 2026-09-07

    SCOPE: one named training institution, on its own about page. Supports its self-description "Politihøgskolen er politiets utdanningsinstitusjon" and its stated mandate "Vårt samfunnsoppdrag er å sikre rettssikkerhet, trygghet, lov og orden gjennom utdanning, forskning og formidling". Supports the STUDENT DISTRIBUTION, which is the point of the citation: approximately 5,190 students in total, of whom roughly 3,600 are in post- and continuing education, 1,490 in bachelor studies and 100 in master’s programmes. Supports that the institution traces its origins to 1920, when a first cohort of 24 students enrolled at Statens politiskole. IMPORTANT LIMIT: the page does NOT describe the institution as a "høgskole" in its self-description, so no degree-awarding or university-status claim rests on this record beyond the named bachelor and master programmes it reports. Establishes nothing about admission, cost or outcomes, and supports no comparison with any other institution.

  4. Organisatiestructuur van de Politieacademie

    Politieacademie (Netherlands) · Government publication · link verified 2026-09-07

    SCOPE: the constitutional position of one named training institution, on its own organisation page. Supports the pairing that is the point of the citation: "De Politieacademie is sinds 2017 onderdeel van de politie." and "Maar het is wel een zelfstandig bestuursorgaan (zbo). Dit betekent dat de Politieacademie zelf beleid maakt en haar taken uitvoert." Supports that "De Politieacademie valt direct onder het ministerie van Justitie en Veiligheid.". Supports the dual quality oversight: the Inspectie Justitie en Veiligheid "controleert de kwaliteit van onze opleidingen en examens", and the NVAO "is verantwoordelijk voor het beoordelen van de kwaliteit van het hoger onderwijs". Supports the existence of a Raad van Advies advising the director. DOES NOT SUPPORT any claim about what the zbo form legally entails beyond the page’s own gloss, about student numbers, about admission, or about any other country. No quality judgement about this institution is made or supported.

  5. Studium — Polizistin/Polizist werden (gehobener Dienst)

    Polizei Berlin (Germany) · Government publication · link verified 2026-09-06

    Supports the gehobener Dienst track for Berlin: "Das Studium dauert 3 Jahre und ist in 15 abgeschlossene Module gegliedert", the award "Mit erfolgreichem Abschluss wird dir der Grad „Bachelor of Arts (B. A.)“ verliehen", and the entry requirement of "mindestens die Fachhochschulreife bzw. das Abitur". Berlin only.

  6. Ausbildung — Polizistin/Polizist werden (mittlerer Dienst)

    Polizei Berlin (Germany) · Government publication · link verified 2026-09-06

    Supports the mittlerer Dienst track for Berlin: a Vorbereitungsdienst of "2 ½ Jahre", entry on erweiterte Berufsbildungsreife or on Berufsbildungsreife plus a completed two-year vocational training and two years of work, and appointment as Polizeimeisterin or Polizeimeister in a Beamtenverhältnis auf Probe. Establishes nothing about the other fifteen Länder or the Bundespolizei, each of which recruits separately.

  7. Deine Ausbildung — Bayerische Polizei (2. Qualifikationsebene)

    Bayerische Polizei (Germany) · Government publication · link verified 2026-09-06

    SCOPE: BAVARIA ONLY. Supports the 2. Qualifikationsebene Ausbildung lasting "2,5 Jahre" and structured in five sections of six months. The page does NOT state the school qualification required, and none is claimed from it. Used alongside the Berlin sources solely to establish that German Länder recruit and train separately; it proves nothing about any other Land, about the Bundespolizei, or about Germany as a whole.

  8. Join the Police — entry routes into policing (England and Wales)

    Join the Police (national police recruitment service, England and Wales) · Government publication · link verified 2026-09-06

    SCOPE: the entry routes into policing in ENGLAND AND WALES, published by the national recruitment site for its 43 forces. Supports the Police Constable Degree Apprenticeship route name, its three-year duration, the Level 3 entry qualification, the Level 6 Degree in Professional Policing Practice as the OUTPUT of training, employment from the first day, and the statement "You don’t need a degree to join the police." Establishes nothing about Scotland or Northern Ireland, which have separate services. The College of Policing is the authoritative body for these routes and returned HTTP 403 to four separate URL forms, so the PCEP start date is recorded as partially established rather than quoted.

  9. Careers FAQ — What are the educational requirements?

    An Garda Síochána (Ireland) · Government publication · link verified 2026-09-06

    Supports the three alternative educational routes — Leaving Certificate at grade D3 or O6 in five subjects at Ordinary Level, a Level 5 Major award of 120 credits on the National Framework of Qualifications, or a recognised comparable qualification at Level 5 or greater — and the Irish or English language requirement. Supports the absence of any degree requirement.

  10. State and Local Law Enforcement Training Academies' Training Topics and Instructors, 2022 — Statistical Tables (NCJ 310041)

    Bureau of Justice Statistics, U.S. Department of Justice · Government publication · 2025-06 · link verified 2026-09-06

    Census of Law Enforcement Training Academies, 2022. Supports the 806-hour average for core basic training, the academy-type range (681 hours state POST/equivalent, 734 sheriff’s office, 969 state police/highway patrol, 759 two-year colleges), the 89.2% mandatory field training figure with a 503-hour average, and the subject-hour table. Covers state and local academies in the United States in 2022 only; establishes nothing about federal agencies or any other country. Read as a PDF after the summariser could not decode it.