Law Enforcement
How do police entry requirements differ between countries?
Six systems, compared only on the questions where the evidence is genuinely comparable — and two of the six have no national requirement to compare at all.
In short
A comparison is only useful where the things compared are genuinely comparable. This one is confined to questions where the researched sources answer the same question — and it leaves cells empty rather than filling them, because an empty cell is information and a guessed one is not.
Why it exists
AnalysisComparison is where false universals come from. Once four systems agree, the fifth gets assumed rather than checked, and the assumption is what ends up being repeated. Laying the evidence out with its gaps visible is the cheapest defence against that.
How it works
- Ireland — one national service
- Status: national of an EU, EEA, UK or Swiss state, OR international-protection status, OR a defined residence history. Education: Leaving Certificate at D3/O6 in five subjects at Ordinary Level, OR NFQ Level 5 Major award, OR a comparable Level 5+ qualification. Language: Irish or English. Degree required: no, stated expressly. Age: not stated here — the available figure belongs to one competition.
- England and Wales — national criteria plus force criteria
- Status: no restrictions on the right to live and work in the UK; a three-year UK residency point applies for vetting where a candidate has lived abroad. Education: Level 3 minimum, defined as two A levels or equivalent. Age: 17 to apply, 18 to become an officer. Degree required: no. And forces may add their own local criteria on top.
- New Zealand — one national service
- Status: New Zealand or Australian citizenship, OR New Zealand residency or permanent residency. Language: English. Age: 17 to apply, 18 at the start of Police College, with no upper age limit. Driving licence: restricted to apply, full before Police College.
- Netherlands — admission to an education programme
- Status: Dutch nationality, which may be a second nationality. Education: vmbo-tl/gl, mbo-3 or mbo-4, or a transfer certificate to 4 havo/vwo, or an admission test. Language: Dutch at B1 written and spoken. Age: 18 at the start of training. Driving licence: category B within nine months of starting.
- Germany — no national requirement exists
- Each Land recruits separately and the federal police separately again. Berlin requires the erweiterte Berufsbildungsreife for the mittlerer Dienst and "mindestens die Fachhochschulreife bzw. das Abitur" for the gehobener Dienst. That is Berlin. No status, age, language or licence requirement is stated here for Germany, because none exists nationally.
- United States — no national requirement established
- Many independent employers at municipal, county, state and federal level. No entry requirement appears here for any of them: none was established from a current official source, and one employer’s rules would not describe the country.
On the degree question the comparison confirms rather than complicates: no researched system requires one to enter, and Ireland says so in terms — "There is no requirement to have a degree prior to entering An Garda Síochána as a Garda Trainee."
Common misconceptions
Widely held beliefs that do not match how the system actually operates.
Common belief: Police entry requirements are broadly similar across countries.
In practice: Of six researched systems, four state a national requirement and each frames status differently; the other two have no national requirement at all.
Common belief: Every country sets a maximum age.
In practice: New Zealand Police state "There’s no upper age limit". The only maximum found in this research was anchored to one Irish competition’s closing date and is not stated here as a rule.
Common belief: A degree is required somewhere among these systems.
In practice: None of the researched systems requires a degree to enter. Ireland states expressly that there is no such requirement.
Common belief: A comparison table like this can tell you where it is easiest to join.
In practice: It cannot, and this platform does not publish rankings of that kind. Requirements differ in what they ask, not in difficulty on a single scale.
Common belief: The blank cells mean the research was incomplete.
In practice: For Germany and the United States they mean no national requirement exists to state. Filling them with one Land’s or one department’s rules would misdescribe both countries.
Common belief: These requirements will still be current when you read this.
In practice: They were verified on 6 September 2026 and are set by recruiting authorities that change them. The authority named on each country page is the current source.
How this varies between jurisdictions
A required section on every guide. Arrangements differ between countries, and we say how.
Which questions the evidence could answer, per system.
- Status, education, language, degree: answered for Ireland, England and Wales, New Zealand and the Netherlands.
- Application age and appointment age as separate thresholds: answered for England and Wales and New Zealand.
- Driving licence: answered for New Zealand and the Netherlands.
- Education only, and for one Land: Germany, via Berlin.
- No entry requirement answerable at national level: Germany and the United States.
- Fitness standards, medical criteria and vetting criteria: not researched for any system, and not published for any system.
Rights and accountability
AnalysisEntry requirements decide who is eligible to hold coercive public authority, which makes them a public-interest question rather than only an applicant’s question. Where they are published clearly and set out with their legal basis, that decision can be examined. Where they are fragmented across hundreds of employers, it is harder to examine — not because anything is hidden, but because there is no single thing to look at.
What we could not establish
- Six systems, stated as at 6 September 2026. Germany is represented by Berlin and Bavaria only, and the United States by a federal survey of training academies rather than by any employer’s requirements.
- The German and United States rows are deliberately empty for most questions, because no national requirement was established for either.
- The Irish age entry is deliberately absent: the only figure available is anchored to one competition’s closing date.
- No fitness standard, medical criterion or vetting criterion appears for any system. None was researched.
Where to go next
Related: who recruits police officers, citizenship, nationality and residency, police recruitment in England and Wales, and how police selection is structured.
Related topics
- Who actually recruits police officers?
In some countries one national body does, and in others the question has no single answer at all — which changes what "the entry requirements" can even mean.
- Do you have to be a citizen to become a police officer?
Four researched systems ask four different questions — nationality, right to work, citizenship-or-residency, and nationality possibly held as a second one. Collapsing them into "you must be a citizen" is wrong in three of the four.
- Is a police entry requirement permanent, or does it belong to one recruitment round?
Some requirements come from law and outlast every competition. Others are terms of a single campaign, anchored to its closing date. Official documents usually contain both, and rarely label which is which.
- Do you need a university degree to become a police officer?
In none of the five systems researched is a university degree required to enter. Two of them award one for completing training, which is a different thing and is the source of most of the confusion.
Sources
Garda Trainee Information Booklet — Conditions for Entry and eligibility criteria
An Garda Síochána and the Public Appointments Service (Ireland) · Government publication · 2024 · link verified 2026-09-06
SCOPE: An Garda Síochána, and CAMPAIGN-SPECIFIC to the 2024 Garda Trainee competition. Supports the six eligibility conditions verbatim — good character; certification by a Registered Medical Practitioner as being in good health, of sound constitution and suited physically and mentally; a passed Physical Competence Test; the age window; the nationality-or-residency alternatives; and the education alternatives. It also names the durable legal basis, the Garda Síochána (Admissions & Appointments) Regulations 2013 as amended by S.I. 602/2020, S.I. 757/2021 and S.I. 611/2023. The AGE WINDOW is anchored to "midnight on Thursday, 8th of February 2024" and must never be restated as a standing rule. Establishes nothing about any other Irish law-enforcement body.
Careers FAQ — What are the educational requirements?
An Garda Síochána (Ireland) · Government publication · link verified 2026-09-06
Supports the three alternative educational routes — Leaving Certificate at grade D3 or O6 in five subjects at Ordinary Level, a Level 5 Major award of 120 credits on the National Framework of Qualifications, or a recognised comparable qualification at Level 5 or greater — and the Irish or English language requirement. Supports the absence of any degree requirement.
Join the Police — eligibility and common questions (England and Wales)
Join the Police (national police recruitment service, England and Wales) · Government publication · link verified 2026-09-06
SCOPE: the NATIONAL eligibility criteria for England and Wales, and not any individual force. RE-VERIFIED 2026-09-06 for Wave 25.5, and the page states its own geographic scope: it addresses the 43 forces of England and Wales, and does not mention Scotland or Northern Ireland, which have separate services. Supports the application/appointment age split — "You can now apply to join the police service at age 17, though you’ll need to wait until you’re 18 before you can officially become a police officer" — the right-to-work formulation, the three-year UK residency point for vetting, the Level 3 minimum education, the degree position stated directly as "No, you don’t need to have a degree before you apply", and the source’s own statement that "Police forces are also allowed to apply their own local criteria in addition to the national eligibility aspects". That last sentence is why no national criterion here may be presented as the complete requirement for any force, and the scope sentence is why none may be presented as a United Kingdom requirement.
New Cops — What do I need? (eligibility to become a constable)
New Zealand Police · Government publication · link verified 2026-09-06
SCOPE: New Zealand Police, nationally. Reached by following a 307 redirect from /eligibility; the destination is what is recorded, and it was re-checked to serve HTTPS 200. Supports the citizenship-or-residency formulation, the age rule including the explicit statement "There’s no upper age limit", the restricted-licence-to-apply and full-licence-before-college rule, the English language requirement, and the existence of fitness, eyesight, conviction-disclosure, overseas police-clearance and medical-history requirements. NOT campaign-specific. No fitness standard or medical criterion is taken from it.
Toelatingseisen voor de politieopleiding
Nationale Politie (Netherlands) · Government publication · link verified 2026-09-06
SCOPE: the Dutch national police, for entry to the politieopleiding. Supports the minimum age at the start of training, the requirement to hold Dutch nationality — "je de Nederlandse nationaliteit moet hebben. Dit mag ook je tweede nationaliteit zijn" — the vooropleiding alternatives with an admission test as a route for those without them, Dutch language at level B1 written and spoken, and the rijbewijs B within nine months of starting. NOT campaign-specific. Establishes nothing about the Koninklijke Marechaussee or any other Dutch body.
Studium — Polizistin/Polizist werden (gehobener Dienst)
Polizei Berlin (Germany) · Government publication · link verified 2026-09-06
Supports the gehobener Dienst track for Berlin: "Das Studium dauert 3 Jahre und ist in 15 abgeschlossene Module gegliedert", the award "Mit erfolgreichem Abschluss wird dir der Grad „Bachelor of Arts (B. A.)“ verliehen", and the entry requirement of "mindestens die Fachhochschulreife bzw. das Abitur". Berlin only.
Bureau of Justice Statistics, U.S. Department of Justice · Government publication · 2025-06 · link verified 2026-09-06
Census of Law Enforcement Training Academies, 2022. Supports the 806-hour average for core basic training, the academy-type range (681 hours state POST/equivalent, 734 sheriff’s office, 969 state police/highway patrol, 759 two-year colleges), the 89.2% mandatory field training figure with a 503-hour average, and the subject-hour table. Covers state and local academies in the United States in 2022 only; establishes nothing about federal agencies or any other country. Read as a PDF after the summariser could not decode it.